Seafarers’ House Lesley Warrick Recognized by Leadership Broward Foundation Warrick to receive 2015 Special Recognition Award

Lesley Warrick, Executive Director of Seafarers’ House at Port Everglades, has been selected to receive Leadership Broward Foundation’s 2015 Special Recognition Award at the organization’s upcoming Profiles in Leadership Gala.


The awards ceremony is designed to recognize the achievements of individuals who have distinguished themselves as leaders in their industry and who have used their leadership to enrich the community. The Special Recognition Award that Warrick will receive is not given every year, rather only when there is an individual or company deserving of the distinctive honor. 


“Lesley serves an invisible group of people who enable the quality of life we enjoy as a result of their work on the high seas. It’s a hard life and Seafarers’ House is able to help by providing these men and women with a place of respite, community and a way to reconnect with their families while away from home,” said Nancy Reierson, Vice President of Philanthropic Services at Community Foundation of Broward. “Since taking over as executive director, Lesley has led Seafarers’ House from a financially precarious position to financial stability and has consistently focused on emphasizing the value of the maritime community.”


Ms. Warrick has served as Seafarers’ House executive director since April 2006, during which time the nonprofit organization has been honored on many occasions. Earlier this year, Ms. Warrick received the Seafarer Advocate of the Year award during Lloyd’s List North America Maritime Awards. In 2014, Seafarers’ House received a Salute to Business Award from the Greater Fort Lauderdale Chamber of Commerce. And, in 2012, Seafarers House received the International Committee on Seafarers' Welfare Award for Seafarer Center of the Year. The award recognizes excellence in the provision of welfare services and facilities for seafarers.


“As I serve in my ninth year as executive director of Seafarers’ House, I have been privileged and honored to be able to meet and work with so many extraordinary individuals. From our pastoral care team to our hard-working staff and dedicated volunteers – these are the people who help to make the organization a success and I am thrilled to be a part of it,” Warrick said.

This year’s honorees will join the ranks of some of Broward’s most prestigious leaders, including Wayne Huizenga, Ralph Marrinson, Ray Ferrero, Jr., Mark Templeton, Dr. Pat Taylor, Keith Koenig, and David Armstrong.


The award ceremony will take place at 6.p.m. on Oct. 17 at Hyatt Pier 66 in Fort Lauderdale.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *